Your guide for the SAFETY Act journey

About the Act

The SAFETY Act provides important legal liability protections for providers of Qualified Anti-Terrorism Technologies, whether they are products or services. The goal of the SAFETY Act is to encourage the development and deployment of effective anti-terrorism products and services by providing liability protections.

There are two levels of protection available under the SAFETY Act.


A technology must demonstrate effectiveness during operational testing or through prior use. Designation provides a liability cap as well as exclusive action in Federal court, no joint and several liability for non-economic damages, and no punitive damages or prejudgment interest. An applicant is required by the SAFETY Act to obtain liability insurance in the amount of the specified liability cap certified by the Secretary. A full Designation normally lasts for five years, after which time it can be renewed. Any technology deployed during its period of Designation is protected for the lifetime of its deployment.

If a technology shows promise but is not sufficiently mature to receive a full Designation, a Developmental Testing and Evaluation (DT&E) Designation is available to provide protection during further testing or trial deployment in order to collect the additional efficacy data necessary for a full Designation. A DT&E Designation provides similar liability protections as that provided by a full Designation but with certain limitations and constraints.

In general, DT&E Designations will include limitations on the use and deployment of the subject technology, remain terminable at-will by the Department should any concerns regarding the safety of technology come to light, and will have a limited term not to exceed a reasonable period for testing or evaluating the technology (presumptively not longer than 36 months). Further, the SAFETY Act liability protections associated with DT&E Designations will apply only to acts that occur during the period set forth in the particular DT&E Designation.


In addition to the benefits provided under Designation, Certification allows a seller of antiterrorism technology to assert the Government Contractor Defense that immunizes Sellers from liability for claims arising from acts of terrorism. Technologies that receive Certification will be also placed on an Approved Products List for Homeland Security.


  • Formulation of optimized Qualified Anti-Terrorism Technology (QATT) description for Seller
  • Preparation, organization, synthesis, and submission of SAFETY Act Pre-Application and necessary supporting documentation
  • Formalized preparation of security program stakeholders in preparation of DHS-led site visit
  • Organization and facilitation of DHS-led site visit. Site visit is normally a requirement for Seller’s submission of a final SAFETY Act application and is used as a vehicle for DHS to evaluate whether the program’s function follows form and, more specifically, the Seller’s conformances with specifications as stated.
  • Preparation, organization, synthesis, and submission of SAFETY Act Final submission and necessary supporting documentation
  • Facilitate and manage DHS application evaluation processes and inquiries and/or requirements disseminated thereto
  • Award maintenance through resiliency services, which could include the following:
    • Contour coordination
    • Continual review, analysis, and revision, as may be necessary, of security program component parts
    • Continual collection and review of sample sets in contemplation of renewals or modification request

Project Snapshot

Let us help you get started.